Welcome to Desktop Linux Reviews!

Find the best desktop Linux distros!

Member Login
Lost your password?

Siduction 11.1

April 15, 2012
By

Siduction 11.1 is a fork of the Aptosid distro. Siduction comes in KDE, Xfce or LXDe spins. You can get 32-bit or 64-bit versions of each spin. Siduction is based on Debian Sid and includes Linux Kernel 3.1-6 and X.Org server 1.11.2.902.

For this review I opted for the Xfce version.

Siduction 11.1 Desktop

The default desktop wallpaper didn’t float my boat much.

Some of you might wonder why there was a need to fork Aptosid in the first place. The developers of Siduction posted an explanation for why they decided to do it. I’ll just let you read it in full and make up your own mind, as I prefer to focus on the features of a distro rather than the intrigue related to its creation or demise.

From Knoppix to sidux

Anyone who has been lingering around in the orbit of Sid-based Distros for some time, will know the history from Knoppix over KANOTIX to sidux and aptosid.

There isn’t much to say against aptosid (on the technical side of things), it’s solid, released on a regular basis, maintained responsibly. In two words: it works. What hindered aptosid from having the success that sidux promised it would have is firstly the discourse with users, which implies that a community is not really wanted and rather cumbersome. Evolving from this latent feeling was a group of users deemed as renitent, which have been consequently expelled due to their criticism. Finally I as well had to realize, that despite it’s technical brillance, which up to that point still kept me in their ranks, there was no future there for me.
From sidux to aptosid

Many among those users who now participate in this new reboot hadn’t taken the step from sidux to aptosid anymore. At that time, I hadn’t lost all hope yet and have tried to give a platform to the German users, that wasn’t restricted by, from my point of view, absurd and excessive censorship and would instead favor respect and free speech. As long as this forum exists, this concept proved to be unproblematic. What was to be expected, as aptosid.com is the only forum I know of, incapacitating and expelling it’s users in such a rigid way.

From aptosid to a friendly OS

The things stated above don’t fully legitimate a fork in my opinion, and our ideas don’t end here. But we are convinced, that a distribution should first of all live by involving it’s users. After all the give & take is a basic principle of free (and open) software. This principle is also valid for the upstream direction. We should give back as much as possible to Debian. At aptosid, my efforts to get closer to Debian have always been eyed suspiciously. Whenever practical results were possible, there was retreat. For example ceni is still not in Debian, despite some lively interest. There was also never an infrastructure to ease bug tracking and triage, to work towards Debian. This shall now change.

The aptosid artwork got worse and more inconsistent in recent releases, a concept is not perceivable anymore. The attempts to create a Corporate Design at sidux failed due to the departure of two members of the art team. aptosid design has a recognition value by now, but rather for bad design.

We will not force our own preferences on our future users with kernel options, package selection and pre-configurations, like for example with aptosids K-menu defaults. Wherever it seems wise, the community shall co-decide. We will always prefer free software and drivers, but in no way prevent nonfree variants. It’s important for the user to know, what free and proprietary means in this context. From there on, he/she has to decide on his/her own.

We are siduction, your friendly aptosid fork 2011 :)

So there you go, those are the reasons why Siduction was created.

Before I get into the review, let me do a bit of blog housekeeping. I’ve changed the format of the reviews. I removed the separate install and multimedia pages, and I’ve gotten rid of the screenshot section for booting and login. I’ve also added system requirements to the what’s new page.

This has shortened the number of pages of each review and eliminated some of the unnecessary screenshot production I was doing for each review. The multimedia section was redundant since that software is listed already on the software page, and I doubt many readers really want to see a step by step of each install.

For me this makes it much easier to focus on the new features and lifts the burden of having to do tedious and probably unnecessary screenshots for each review. For the readers it eliminates some fluff from the reviews while also shortening the number of pages for each review.

I hope you like the changes. Now on to the rest of this review.

What’s New
Since this is a first release, there really isn’t a list of what’s new. So I’ll just list the system requirements and then move right into the Desktop & Software section.

System Requirements
Here’s what you’ll need to run this distro:

AMD64

  • CPU requirements:
    • AMD64
    • Intel Core2
    • Intel Atom 330
    • any x86-64/ EM64T capable CPU or newer
    • newer 64 bit capable AMD Sempron and Intel Pentium 4 CPUs (watch for the “lm” flag in /proc/cpuinfo or use inxi -v2).
  • RAM requirements:

    VGA graphics card capable of at least 640×480 pixel resolution.

    • KDE: ?512 MByte RAM (?1 GByte RAM recommended), ?1 GByte RAM for liveapt.)
    • XFCE: ?512 MByte RAM.
    • LXDE: ?512 MByte RAM.
  • Optical disk drive or USB media.
  • ?3 GByte HDD space, ?10+ GByte recommended.

i686

  • CPU requirements:
    • Intel Pentium pro/ Pentium II
    • AMD K7 Athlon (not K5/ K6)
    • Intel Atom N-270/ 230
    • VIA C3-2 (Nehemiah, not C3 Samuel or Ezra)/ C7
    • any x86-64/ EM64T capable CPU or newer
    • the full i686 command set is required.
  • RAM requirements:

    VGA graphics card capable of at least 640×480 pixel resolution.

    • KDE: ?512 MByte RAM (?1 GByte RAM recommended), ?1 GByte RAM for liveapt.
    • XFCE: ?512 MByte RAM.
    • LXDE: ?512 MByte RAM.
  • Optical disk drive or USB media.
  • ?3 GByte HDD space, ?10+ GByte recommended.

The Desktop
As I noted earlier, I opted for the Xfce version of Siduction 11.1.

When you first load Siduction’s desktop you’ll see the “one step beyond” wallpaper with some dice and the Siduction logo and slogan. Blue and orange aren’t my favorite color combination, but your mileage may vary. There are some very attractive wallpapers included though so just right-click your desktop and choose Desktop Settings. I thought the squirrel wallpaper was very cute.

Siduction 11.1 Squirrel Desktop

The squirrel wallpaper was very cute.

Siduction 11.1 Wallpaper

There are some great alternative wallpapers available if the default one leaves you cold.

You’ll also note the following icons on the desktop:

Home
File System?Trash
Bluewater Manual
Siduction IRC

I wasn’t sure what the Bluewater Manual referred to so I clicked it and then a web page loaded in Iceweasel. Apparently, it’s the Siduction manual. So bear that in mind if you decide to try Siduction. Once the web page loads you’ll need to choose your language and then you can start reading the manual.

To access application categories, help, log out, etc. you just need to click the Xfce button at the far left of the top panel. Everything is laid out as you’d expect, and it’s quite easy to navigate around to open applications, use accessories, or do some system management.

At the bottom of the desktop is a panel that contains a number of icons for system management and various applications.

Siduction 11.1 Panel 2

The bottom panel comes populated with useful applications.

Here’s a list:

Terminal Emulator
File Manager
Web Browser
Application Finder
Minitube
AbiWord
DeadBeef Music
XChat IRC
Brasero
Gnumeric
Xarchiver
Orage Calendar

There’s quite a bit of the functionality that most people would need if they used Siduction on a daily basis. You can easily edit the bottom panel by clicking on the Xfce menu button in the top panel, selecting Settings then Panel, and then go to Panel 2. Click the Items tab after the Panel 2 menu loads to add or remove items to the bottom panel. You can also right click on the items in the panel for a faster way to remove, add items, etc.

Bundled Software

Here’s a sample of the software included in this release.

Games
No Games Included

Graphics
Document Viewer
Image Viewer
Ristretto Image Viewer
XSane Image Scanning Program

Internet
Ceni
Elinks Web Browser
Iceweasel
XChat IRC

Multimedia
Brasero
DeaDBeeF
Minitube
Mixer
Pragha
Xfburn

Office
AbiWord
Gnumeric
Orage Calendar
Orage Globaltime

Software Management
Siduction comes with a useful, but limited amount of software. Most of the necessary application functionality is covered, but you might not like the choices presented for applications.

Siduction 11.1 Synaptic

Synaptic needs to be installed from the command line.

There is no GUI software management tool included with Siduction. So you will need to add Synaptic yourself via the terminal. I’ll have more to say about this in the problems section of the review.

Next, I’ll share some of the problems I encountered, show you where to get help, and I’ll share my final thoughts.

Problems & Headaches
Siduction wasn’t the speediest distro for me. It seemed a bit slow at times when I was loading applications. This surprised me since I was using Xfce, which is usually quite speedy about such things.

The installer may also be a bit daunting to Linux newbies. I had no problem with it, but I’ve been installing distros for years. There were certain parts of the install that could confuse some of the newer folks. I’d like to see a simplified install process that is similar to some of the more newbie-friendly distros like Ubuntu.

Siduction 11.1 Installer

The installer could use a bit of streamlining to make it easier for newbies.

I was also surprised to see that LibreOffice didn’t come installed. AbiWord and Gnumeric are okay, but I suspect many users would like to be able to use a more comprehensive office suite.

This leads me to what is probably the biggest problem with Siduction. There is no GUI software management tool included with it. I was surprised that Synaptic wasn’t installed by default at the very least. You can install it via the command line yourself.

But, given that Siduction is supposed to be a desktop distro, I expected some sort of GUI based software management tool. Yes, there are folks who prefer the command line. There is nothing wrong with that and more power to them.

There are other folks, however, who have come to expect some sort of basic GUI software management tool to be included. Maybe they have been spoiled by Linux Mint or Ubuntu, but such is the time we are living in. The days of the dominance by command line software management are over.

Or maybe I’ve just gotten lazy? I’d be curious to read your thoughts about this in the comments section. Should we expect all desktop Linux distros to offer a GUI based software management tool? Or should people be left to fend for themselves at the command line? These questions and your answers could be good column fodder.

Synaptic itself, while very powerful, is not the most attractive software management tool these days. Still, it does provide software management tools in a GUI package so adding it might be a good idea in a future release.

Where To Get Help
Please take a moment to register for the DLR forum; everybody is welcome. Feel free to post a message in the forum and we’ll do our best to point you in the right direction. The forum contains discussions about Linux, as well as other topics. Please stop by and say hello when you have a chance.


You might also want to check out the Siduction forum, blog, and bug tracker pages. You can also use IRC channels #siduction for English support, and there is the option of #siduction-core.

Final Thoughts & Who Should Use It
I think it’s still early for Siduction. It seems off to a good start, but it could use some more polish to catch up with other desktop distros. The installer and the software management issues might turn off some potential Siduction users.

It will be interesting to see how many of the Aptosid users move over to Siduction. One of the nicest things about Linux is that there really is a distro for everybody. So Aptosid users that feel the same as the Siduction developers can jump ship and move on.

Siduction is definitely best suited for intermediate or advanced Linux users. Beginners will probably find the lack of a GUI software management tool to be a deal breaker. I suggest one of the buntus or Linux Mint if you’re new to Linux.

What’s your take on this distro? Tell me in the comments below. Visit Eye On Linux for Linux opinion columns and distro quick looks; visit JimLynch.com for other technology coverage.

Summary Table:

Product: Siduction 11.1
Web Site: http://siduction.org 
Price: Free
Pros:  Fork of Aptosid; comes in KDE, LXDE or Xfce spins.
Cons:  No GUI software manager; installer could be more intuitive and slicker.
Suitable For: Intermediate and advanced Linux users.
Rating: 3.5/5

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You can unsubscribe to follow-up comments or new posts via links in the email notification message.



22 Responses to Siduction 11.1

  1. Bil Julian on April 20, 2012 at 8:46 am

    New review format works for me Jim.  Stay with it.

    I am happy to see Siduction and I hope it gains traction.  I left sidux/aptosid some time back because there was no compelling reason to put up with the increasingly boorish behavior on the forum and no great technical advantage to the system.

    I agree with people saying that the lack of Synaptic is not a deal-breaker.  I might or might not put it on if I try Siduction but I certainly will go to smxi quickly.  If smxi/sgfxi does not work with it that would be a deal breaker, but I can see no reason why they should not.

    Will I try Siduction?  Oh probably.  Is it likely to blow out one of my three main Debian variants?  Not likely.

  2. Brian Masinick on April 18, 2012 at 6:03 am

    Hey, the review made it on http://www.linuxtoday.com/infrastructure/20120416… (Linux Today).  Based on comments here, it's been getting a fair amount of attention.

    • Jim Lynch on April 18, 2012 at 6:59 am

      Cool. Glad to know people are checking out Siduction. Always nice to help a distro gain possible users. :)

      • Brian Masinick on April 18, 2012 at 7:15 am

        You may even pay a few more bills with more traffic on the site here!  Be sure to review antiX M12.0 when it comes out.  At least for enthusiasts, and that's who I think read stuff here, it can be another winner.  But the name "siduction" may also be part of the attraction here; if so, good move on their part!

         

  3. michimak on April 18, 2012 at 5:01 am

    tried 11.1 and was utterly disappointed !!! did not even detect my wlan card – Semplice did and is based off of Debian too ( as is Mint which runs fine too )…

  4. me on April 17, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    I won't mention the positives as I'm sure there are some like their live-cd, not to mention their expertise (years making distros).

    But those folks, just like the ones in aptosid, stopped in time due to their prejudices.

    I have used plain Debian sid for years and Synaptic never, ever was cause for trouble. Granted, dist-upgrades I did on the console just to be on the safe side, but apt has evolved so much that even that isn't really necessary.

    They use a custom apt configuration which removes installing recommends (good, but not related to system stability), disabling diffs (unnecessary) and disabling auto-remove (stupid).

    So maybe it's a way for people to familiarize themselves with sid and then when they feel restricted for the restricted approach of the distro, they just go on using plain Debian. 

    • DeepDayze on April 17, 2012 at 4:39 pm

      Disabling autoremove for Sid/siduction makes sense as at times autoremove will remove some vital packages and thus break the system. If you pay attention to whatever apt wants to remove you can then decide to wait till later when updated packages enter the archive or you can ask if such a package has been obsoleted

  5. DeepDayze on April 16, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Siduction  is quite seductive as its a distro that's community based and no one gets flamed or banned from the forums for speaking their minds as the devs are very close to the user community as opposed to sidux and aptosid. Support is quite responsive and questions are answered pretty quickly by other users and the dev team. To me this is the easiest Debian Sid yet and while it isn't really geared to beginners its easy to install and manage as there's a fine wiki and manual that's packed with information. Debian really grows on you and compared to other distros its not as much work to manage packages as well as its flexibility and remarkable stability.

     

  6. mkklolo on April 16, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Siduction, while excellent in most regards, is not the distro for newbies and it is likely that anyone who is interested in a sid distro will be very familiar with "apt-get".  Synaptic, in a sid environment, is best used as a search tool to find available packages not included in the .iso.  With the package name in hand, apt-get is a better, more dependable means to obtain new packages.  That gives you the best protection against things breaking.

    I find that having a squeeze distro andSiduction running on the same box is a big help.  For example, the squeeze supported xsane version has a problem saving images on my box and blows up after scanning.  The slightly later version on Siduction works well.  I have had the opposite experience in some other cases where the Squeeze distro versions work better. 

    I was very pleased to see Siduction arrive, as I was one of the aptosid diaspora…not banned by any means but unable to communicate freely on the forum because I was a heretic for using the banned smxi update management software from H2 (which ironically had gotten sidux off to its great start by making sid easy to maintain).

    I also didn't appreciate the bums rush they put on H2. The Siduction forum is much friendlier but they are still very much sid purists in most regards.  They won't burn you at the stake for using smxi even though they refuse to support it in the forum.  Lets face it, getting the latest nVidia drivers installed is a daunting pain in the butt when not using it.  Siduction has an excellent manual but it is still a lot of high precision work in the text mode to install a new video driver and nv and nouveau don't work well yet for demanding multimedia applications.

    All in all, I think Siduction does a fantastic job of serving its target audience, which is the moderately experienced linux user or one who is willing to learn in order to become one.  The lack of a few GUI features or even the huge office suites won't put anyone off who knows "apt-get".  Finally, it is very "stable" in the sense of just working and not blowing up so if you understand what "unstable" means in Debian-talk, go for it.

     

    • Brian Masinick on April 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm

      Well said, mkklolo; I agree with your comments and assessment.

       

  7. Brian Masinick on April 16, 2012 at 6:00 am

     

    Jim, I am really glad to see a review of siduction, since it is one of the few distributions based on Debian Sid.  One of the alternatives, aptosid, is a solid distribution, but even chatting with their developers is a nightmare that I would rather avoid.  Semplice 2.0.2 is another recent Debian Sid-based distribution, but until just recently, I had not heard of it.  I found it an interesting alternative to siduction and aptosid.

    As far as using GUI-based system administration tools with Debian Sid-based systems, most developers in that arena (certainly all of those from sidux, aptosid, and siduction) feel that doing a dist-upgrade that involves the X server is like playing with fire.  You may get out alive, but you may also char your environment beyond recognition, so they would rather avoid such events.

    I've used synaptic with Debian Sid systems in the past many times.  If you know what you are doing, you can certainly use it.  The wise thing to do is to observe whether or not there are any graphical packages changing; if there are, get out of the GUI and you'll usually be OK.

    The other thing to watch for are subsystems that have mixes and matches of versions.  Sometimes in the flow of Debian changes, mostly in Sid, but sometimes even in Testing, there can be a flurry of changes.  If a particular application has a large infrastructure that is undergoing a change, it's best to wait until all of those changes are made before upgrading the applications that work with that infrastructure.  Try explaining that to the average person, though; they have no idea what you are talking about, so choosing lower level administration tools pretty much requires people to learn and know something about what they are doing.  As a result, such systems are generally not considered a good place for the beginner, except for the beginner who is an avid student of software administration; it may be a great place for them.

    As far as the performance of siduction, I have not noticed any significant difference between it and my other Debian-based systems.  If anything, all of my Debian-based systems, including siduction, tend to out perform most of my other systems, except for the very lightest and most simple ones.  I'd add, however, that I have not been using siduction often; perhaps if I used it more often, I'd run into some of the performance scenarios you mention, but since you were not very specific, it may be difficult to identify them.

    When I'd use sidux in the past with a VM (Virtualbox in particular), it was flat out the fastest with Virtualbox, whether I was hosting on sidux or I was using sidux in a Virtualbox session on Windows.  I have not done that kind of work or comparison with siduction, so I cannot comment on it, but the basic architecture from sidux to aptosid to siduction is quite similar; I'd be surprised to see much different results.

    The whole thing with the sidux and aptosid fiascos really turned me off, and as a result, I went to Debian Sid, and that's what I mostly use today.  I do, however, use my own customized version of antiX core; that's the one Debian derivative I spend a lot of time with, but mostly I stick with straight Debian these days; I don't really need too many "conveniences" since I tend to use the rolling distribution methods; it's been a couple of years already since I did that.  I install other systems mostly to review and test them, but after that, I generally use Debian Sid, and yes, I upgrade that primarily with text-based tools.

     

  8. Someone on April 15, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Why run an unstable distribution in the first place? Whats the purpose? If you're a developer or a beta tester then i understand, but if you intend to do some serious work and expect that your system will work even after a dist-upgrade, then i dont.

    • SomeoneElse on April 16, 2012 at 5:27 am

      I can tell you why i am interested.

      First, "unstable" refers to the fact that there are lots of new versions of software packages. From my understanding, its not particularly unstable in the sense of lots of failures. (although, almost by definition, there will probably be more than in a stable release of debian. )

       

      However, there are, times when you have to work to fix problems. i was using debian testing when gnome3 started rolling in. it wasn't my primary system – in fact it was the 3rd boot partition on my 2nd system at home -  so i was able to ignore it for months until it corrected itself. I understand sid is corrected more quickly as fixes in sid have to "stabilize" before moving to testing. That slows fixes down from making it to testing.

      Second, this is more or less a rolling release, meaning:

      a. you frequently get new versions of software packages – instead of being stuck on old software until you re-install

      b. you shouldn't have to re-install. the upgrades move you to the next version of the kernel, software packages, etc.

      on some of my systems, i don't want to have to reinstall every 18 months, or every two years ( or in the case of fedora 6 months or 9 months in the case opensuse ). Although i don't always need the latest of everything, I also don't want my kernel etc, to be really really old. I also don't necessarily be stuck on an LTS forever. Backports help with this, but I have recently been debating about aptosid ( and now siduction ) or just debian sid. not sure how long siduction will last. since it is brand new, you never know. perhaps the devs will reconcile with aptosid and go back home.  aptosid has been around for a while, i assume it will stay.

      the reason i would considers aptosid over debian sid directly is that they have done a lot of work to make it look decent and focusing the work you may need to do between upgrades ( you may detect a bit of laziness here ). But i may still try sid directly.

       

       

      • Brian Masinick on April 16, 2012 at 7:53 am

        To go a bit further with this, I've used the "Cooker" in Mandrake, Mandriva, and the Cauldron in Mageia for as long (or longer) than I've been using Debian Sid, though I definitely now use Debian more often.

        You can get even newer software in those Cooker or Cauldron archives than you can in Debian, but once again, unless you really know what you are doing, you can break that environment.  I've gone as long as two years without breaking the Cooker, but over the past year, I've broken both the Cooker and the Cauldron at least three times when I attempted to do upgrades without fully researching what was taking place.

        So understanding what is being changed before you blindly make changes, is important, not just with Debian, but with any development environment: Fedora, openSUSE, Mandriva, Mageia, Gentoo, Arch, anywhere that an active and ongoing development cycle is taking place.

        • Euan Thoms on April 18, 2012 at 10:17 am

          I've been using PCLinuxOS for a couple of years now, it's a rolling release distro. I have never had a single issue updating my system. The devs do an amazing job. Some apps are quite current and some are as out of date as Debian stable. bu they are always stable and fully functional. Although it's it's rolling release, they also stick to the "it's ready when it's ready" philosophy.

          In fact, but for 2 things, I would swear it as the distro for noobs. 1.) synaptic is the gui package manager, a bit scary for noobs, a "software center" style gui would be nice. 2.) When some extra pacakage not in repository, (free as in beer, or commercial), they don't make a download available for PCLOS. They only make a package for the big distros, or ones based of them. Mandriva packages no longer work on PCLOS for a while now.

          In fact I am only still disto hopping because of one reason. The repository is not big enough and besides the common apps, it can get a bit limited. Not enough devs/packagers. Through all my experience with Linux distros, I have decided that once you are an advanced user, it's all about package management and the vastness and quality of packages.

          That's why I'm moving to Debian….. for now. :-)

          The thing that held me back from Debian for ages was that I'm a KDE guy. Kubunutu just doesn't cut it for me, although recently it is very much better, a contender. But Debian just never a recent enoough version of KDE4 for me. But now it does, and it is very responsive.

          Siduction is great, but I'll settle for debian testing until it becomes stable, then stick to that. Getting tired of the updating game and distro hopping. Hopefully 7 has Gimp 4.8 and Calligra!

    • CFWhitman on April 16, 2012 at 7:39 am

      Why run an unstable distribution?  Well, I think that most people who run a rolling release distribution like Aptosid or Siduction also have a machine with a more conventional distribution available.  However, a distribution like this is very up to date and works well most of the time.  You might be surprised by how stable an "unstable" distribution can be when managed the right way.

      • Brian Masinick on April 16, 2012 at 7:48 am

        When it comes to Debian, calling anything "Unstable" is a bit of a misnomer.  What is unstable is not the software; it almost always works.  What is unstable is the distribution archive, and even that is not really unreasonably unstable.

        What happens, since it is a "rolling" distribution archive, is that when there are major changes to the infrastructure, such as when a new display server is introduced, when the Glibc or libc libraries undergo a major change, when the compiler collection is modified, things like that, there are periods where transition is necessary, and that is why it is called "Unstable".  Yes, during those times, you had either know what you are doing, or wait until the transition is completed.

        I'd say, based on over a decade of experience, using Debian nearly every day, that in looking over the decade, Debian has not been "unstable".  Instead, it has been the most reliable overall platform to use, even for every day use.  The only care that is needed is to be aware of the transition times, and either wait to upgrade during those times, or exercise caution and experience while doing so.  But to call it unstable in terms of what you get is ridiculous.  I'd take Debian Sid over a developing version of the Mandriva Cooker or an Ubuntu development version any day; you are much more likely to be able to keep the Debian environment working, once you actually understand it.

         

  9. TonyVanDam on April 15, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Thanks for an all-new review Jim. I've been interested in learning more about Siduction and other Debian Sid-based distros for a while.

    Like Sidux & Aptosid before it, Siduction doesn't seem to be intended for first time Linux users. Although I'm only a 3+ year veteran, my experience has been mostly using Ubuntu & Linux Mint. But even as a current Linux Mint Debian user, I still made it my professional responsibility in gaining knowledge about using a root terminal to type command lines. Yes, using Synaptic Package Manager to install and/or remove software is easier, especially for Linux beginners. But it still take typing command lines in a root terminal (EXAMPLE: apt-get autoremove) to really clean up the system so to speak. Therefore, I don't fault Team Siduction or the Siduction community for their "command lines only" beliefs so to speak!  :lol:

    Ubuntu & Linux Mint users are definitely not lazy as much as they have been pretty spoiled (myself included!) in recent years. But I've convince that using a Debian Sid-based distro like Siduction can change that. But the user would have to be prepare to get their hands dirty and learn about command lines beforehand in order to make Siduction work for them. The very fact that Siduction does have a user community that shares ideas is an advantage in itself, meaning that Aptosid's lost will be Siduction's gain.

     

     

  10. Jim Lynch on April 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Hi Tom,

    Thanks very much for the feedback, I appreciate it. :smile:

    I was not aware the developers had made a statement against doing GUI software management. Thanks for the heads up, I'm sure they have some good reasons. I suppose I come at it more from the perspective of user convenience and comfort. So perhaps we're just looking at it through different prisms.

  11. Tom Gellhaus on April 15, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Jim, I have been enjoying your reviews for over a year. Tightening up the presentation makes sense and I like it.

    I'm afraid I must disagree with you (and others) who complain about the lack of a GUI for software management. As you point out, this is not a distro for beginners. The developers explain quite clearly why you are strongly discouraged from performing software management while running the X window system. Call me paranoid, but their reason makes sense to me and I'll abide by it when I get around to trying Siduction out. It is "sid", after all.

    I have been curious about the 3 "sid"-based distributions for awhile now; I just don't know when I'll fit a review in. 



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Ads and Amazon

Read more about the kinds of ads I run, and the kinds I don't allow on Desktop Linux Reviews.

Thank You!

Thank you if you've whitelisted this site or made a purchase via the Amazon links, your support is very much appreciated.

Google+ Posts